Montana State Window Tint Law

This page is dedicated to presenting legal information about Montana’s window tinting laws. This includes how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be. Every state has its own legal rules, so knowing what your state allows can help you avoid fines. 

Montana State Automotive Window Tinting Rules 

How dark can window tint be in Montana? – Sedans

Tint VLT: Windshield: Non-reflective tints are allowed over the windshield as long as it’s above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.

Tint VLT: Front Side Windows: Minimum light allowed in is 25%. Must be more than 24%.

Tint VLT: Back Side Windows: Minimum light allowed in is 15%. Must be more than 14%.

Tint VLT: Rear Window: Minimum light allowed in is 15%. Must be more than 14%.

How dark can window tint be in Montana? – SUVs and VansMulti-Purpose Vehicles

Tint VLT: Windshield: Non-reflective tints are allowed over the windshield as long as it’s above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.

Tint VLT: Front Side Windows: Minimum light allowed in is 25%. Must be more than 24%.

Tint VLT: Back Side Windows: Any level of darkness.

Tint VLT: Rear Window: Any level of darkness.

How reflective can window tint be in Montana?

Tint Reflection: Front Side Windows: No higher than 35% reflectiveness. 

Tint Reflection: Rear Side Windows: No higher than 35% reflectiveness. 

Other Montana automotive window tinting rules & regulations:

Resisted Colors: No restrictions or bans.

Side Mirrors: No restrictions or bans.

Certificate Requirements: No certification required.

Stick Requirements: State law recommends stickers to identify legal tinting.

Penalties for Non-Compliance: Misdemeanor with either a fine of $500 or up to 6 months in county jail.

Montana Tint Law Reference

Tint law references:

Montana Code section 61-9-405: Window tinting and sunscreening

Medical exemption information: 

Montana Code section 61-9-428 – Window tinting and sunscreening — waiver — conditions

Exterior Window VLT Tint

How Much Does Car Window Tinting Cost in Montana State

On a 4 four sedan, the price range for dyed film window tilting is between $200 and $300. To remove a window tint, the price ranges from $100 – $200.

How Does Car Window Tinting Work?

When you tint a window, a lightweight film is applied to the inside pane of the glass. It is not applied to the outside of the glass. This is to protect the tinting from wear and tear, flying debris, and harsh sunlight. 

The first layer will be a strong polyester laminate which should improve the performance of the windows. The polyester is a transparent film. 

The next film will have tinting agents like metals and dyes, which create the shading effect. This is the layer that blocks UV rays to protect your skin from overexposure to harsh sunlight.

What Is The Best DIY 35% Tinting Product?

With so many options to choose from, it can be hard to find a tint that will actually work well on your car, especially if you buy it online. We have done a lot of research to figure out the best tinting product to apply to your vehicle yourself, and we recommend using the MKBROTHER.

Why Is This The Best?

We praise MKBROTHER so highly because of their easy-to-apply directions, their 99% UV blocking, and their scratch-resistant materials.

The MKBROTHER has a strong tint which allows in visible light but rejects the heat of the sun and the UV rays up to 99% while still sticking to the 35% restriction. This blocking doesn’t create a glare which means you won’t be distracted by the moving sunlight. The lack of glare also means that your vehicle’s interior won’t be affected by the sun rays, allowing it to stay showroom-ready for longer.

As the film is not made from metal fragments, you don’t have to worry about the tinting blocking any of your technology which normally relies on signaling.

How To Apply To Your Car

The tint is made of an adhesive film, which means all you need to do is apply the tint to the car’s window, with no special equipment on hand. 

First, you need to clean the glass on your car to remove any impurities. Next, you want to cut the film to match your car’s window size. We would advise that you check their sizing section before buying, as you will want more than enough to cover your window.

After that, you can pull one corner of the tint’s protective layers to expose the adhesive. You will be given a spray solution. Spray this solution onto the adhesive side of the film and onto the inside of the window you are planning on tinting.  At this point, depending on your state, you would apply the legalization sticker.

Lastly, you should place the film onto the window with the adhesive sides connecting. Then flatten out any bubbles which may have occurred in the process. If you have left any film on the edge of the window, you can cut it off with an extractor knife. 

Pros & Cons Of DIY vs Professional Fitting

There is an obvious reason for doing a DIY fitting instead of hiring a professional, and that’s the price. DIY tinting is so much cheaper that it is definitely worth considering. This can help you either save money or allow you to buy better quality film without the higher charge that the professional will ask for.

However, there is a reason why professionals charge these higher prices. It’s because creating a seamless installation isn’t always easy. If you put the tinting on incorrectly, it won’t last as long, nor will it protect you as much as it should. 

Medical Exemption

Montana State Law allows window tint medical exemptions to be given to vehicle owners. To qualify for an exemption, a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse must sign an affidavit for your medical, security, or safety reasons. This affidavit must then be presented to the highway patrol or a local law enforcement agency to grant a waiver.

The waiver must include the vehicle identification number, registration number, and vehicle description, so it is clearly identifiable. It must also have the reason for the waiver, the date the waiver was issued, and the date it starts applying. Lastly, it should have the car owner’s name and the signature of the law enforcement officer who granted the waiver.

A copy of the waiver will be kept with the highway patrol or local law enforcement agency until it expires.