Rhode Island State Window Tint Law

The window tint law was put into place in Rhode Island in 2000 with the state being the 36th out of the 50 states to pass tinting laws. We’ll be giving you all the necessary up-to-date legal information regarding the tint law including how dark and how reflective the tint is allowed to be within the state of Rhode Island. 

Rhode Island State Automotive Window Tinting Rules

How dark can window tint be in Rhode Island?

Tint VLT: Windshield: Tinting allowed to the manufacturer’s as-1 line

Tint VLT: Front Side Windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in

Tint VLT: Back Side Windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in

Tint VLT: Rear Window: Must allow more than 70% of light in

How reflective can window tint be in Rhode Island?

Tint Reflection: Front Side Windows: Not referenced in state laws

Tint Reflection: Rear Side Windows: Not referenced in state laws

Other Rhode Island automotive window tinting rules & regulations:

Resisted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly banned 

Side Mirrors: No restrictions

Certificate Requirements: Manufacturers of film do not need to certify the film they sell in the state

Sticker Requirements: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required

Penalties For Non-compliance: Up to $250 per offense 

Rhode Island Tint Law References

Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 31-23.3: Non-Transparent Windshields and Windows

Exterior Window VLT Tint

How Much Does Car Window Tinting Cost In Rhode Island

The prices of car window tinting in the state of Rhode Island will vary depending on where you got it done and the model and size of your vehicle. 

For example, the average cost of a basic tint for a 4-door sedan is $200-300 which will include the cost of glass tinting labor and the materials used to do the job.

However, if you wanted a higher quality film, have a luxury vehicle, SUV, or even a minivan, then this could see the cost of tinting to over $500. 

A cheaper alternative would be to try out a DIY tint kit for your vehicle which could cost you around $100.

How Does Car Window Tinting Work?

Window tinting consists of applying a tinted film onto the window surface glass. The film is placed on the inside of the window instead of the outside, allowing it to be more protected from the elements. 

The window tint film is made from polyester laminate with another layer over the top of it. This extra thin layer is made up of the tinting agent chosen, such as metal, dye, ceramic, or more. This second layer is the one that is responsible for protecting the inside of your car from harmful UV rays and bright light. 

What Is The Best DIY 70% Tinting Product? 

There are plenty of 70% tinting films on the market, and it can be difficult knowing which is the best for your vehicle. From extensive research, we have found that the best 70% tinting product is the G Greenfilm Static Cling Window Tint 70% Window Film

Why Is This The Best?

This tinting film only blocks 17% of visible light, which is considerably less than other tinting films on the market. This keeps your car bright and safe while you still benefit from its high-quality UV blocking technology. 

The manufactured PVC film is lightweight and able to stick to your window through static instead of glue, making it easy to install. You don’t need to worry about enlisting the help of a professional with this 70% film! 

Nanotechnology blocks up to 99.9% of UV rays as well as 85% IR. This film offers an impressive amount of protection to you and other passengers without blocking too much of the natural sunlight.  

The manufacturer of this tinting film also offers an installation kit to purchase separately, making it even easier for you to apply to your windows. 

How To Apply To Your Car 

Applying the G Greenfilm Static Cling Window Tint could not be easier, with the manufacturer only needing three steps to explain it fully. However, you should cut your film before applying it to the windows. 

This film comes in seven different sizes, so make sure that you opt for the correct roll of film to sufficiently cover your car windows. 

Once you have cut all of the window shapes from your tinting film, it is time to apply the tint to the window. 

The first step is to clean the window with a high-quality window cleaner, ensuring that there are no streaks or dust left. Next, spray both the window and film on both sides with the specialized solution. 

Apply the film to the window, as straight as possible, to the window. It doesn’t matter which side of the film you use. 

Now use a squeegee to remove the solution from under the film, using firm pressure. Make sure that no bubbles are left underneath the film and that it is completely applied to the glass. You will need to leave this to dry for several days. 

Pros & Cons Of DIY vs Professional Fitting 

For starters, DIY fitting is cheaper and more economical than having it professionally fitted. You also have more of a say of which film to go for depending on your budget if you were to DIY the job yourself. 

However, fitting window tints is not easy, and therefore you might be left with poorer results if you were to DIY it rather than using a professional. If you made a mistake, repairing it can also be very expensive. You also won’t get a warranty on the tint like you would if you were to use a professional, so DIYing the job can actually cost you more money in the long run if you were to do a bad job. 

Professionals might be more expensive, but they are likely to have much more experience than you. They’ll also have access to more films in terms of technology and colors. You are also more likely to get a warranty on your purchase. 

Medical Exemption

The state of Rhode Island allows medical exemptions for special tinting for vehicle owners.To file for a medical exemption for special tinting, the driver or owner of the vehicle must obtain from a licensed optometrist or physician who must state that the special window tinting is a medical necessity. 

If you have a special window tint installed in your vehicle, then you’ll need to carry the physical medical exemption certificate with you at all times in your vehicle. If you get pulled over by the police you can then present this certificate and you should not then be given a citation.